top of page

EIR Weekly Reflection - Week 1

Reflect on your communication with your site mentor and school community. What's working? What's not working? What could change?

My communication with my site mentor has been great so far. We have been meeting at least once a week to get things organized and started, but I bet that our communication will change from meetings to brief check-ins as EIR progresses. 

My communication with my school community has been mixed. I have had great communication with the teachers at my school since I was invited to all of their team meetings. I was able to fill my afternoon schedule completely with all the different periods I am teaching during Flex and Crew, which is nice.

I have not had a ton of success communicating with the students since a lot of them don’t really understand if I’m a real teacher or why I’m there. I am going to every lunch period but I am only getting moderate connections with the students I sit with. This could be because it is still early, however it could be improved by learning more of the students names. It’s an old Kieve proverb that “to make a difference in the life of a student, you must first know their name.” I understand that it will be difficult to know over 300 kids names but why not try, right?  

bottom of page