top of page

Self-Care


How do you take care of yourself? What are some cues that you need to make more time for self-care? Who is one person you can call when the brown stuff his the spinning blades?

A couple years ago, I was very bad at taking care of myself. I turned to destructive mechanisms for coping with stress instead of healthy ways to de-stress. Eventually those destructive behaviors caught up with me, and I had to deal with the consequences. Now I take care of myself by writing down my anxieties, talking to others about it, going to therapy, using healthy distraction techniques, and prioritizing my time. Some cues that I need to take more time for self-care is when I feel run down, start getting irritable, my room gets messy, or I start feeling depressed. I am very lucky that I have a family that I can turn to when things go wrong. Specifically, my siblings and my godfather have gotten me through some of my toughest days.

bottom of page